Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory.

To what extent do you agree?

Looking from an educational perspective, certain subjects in modern school curriculum, such as mathematics or philosophy, are found to be complex for young learners and these subjects are believed to be options rather than compulsory subjects. Personally, I totally concur with this statement.

For a variety of reason, mathematics or philosophy have become difficult to understand for the young. To begin with, some children reveal that mathematics is incredibly difficult for them mainly because it requires logical thinking, which is used to solve equations and questions. Hence, for those who were not born with numerical intelligence, it would take a lot of time and effort for these young ones to partially comprehend math. Regarding philosophy, it is beyond children’s ability to understand because philosophy involves questioning the existence of all entities. As a result, it is impossible for a large number of youngsters to absorb the knowledge related to philosophy theories.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, I hold a firm belief that abstract subjects such as mathematics or philosophy should be an option for children to learn at school. To explain, not all young ones are blessed with innate talents in which they are able to cope with numerical problems. Therefore, forcing children to learn these subjects can somehow bring a profound impact on their efficiency. For instance, there are a number of private schools in Vietnam allow children to pursue the subjects that they are passionate. Ultimately, once these children are given free choices, they are able to fully flourish with their own talents and subsequently accomplish remarkable achievement.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that young students should be allowed to choose whether they want to learn subjects, such as mathematics or philosophy, as these subjects are considered difficult.