Should animals be used in testing new drugs and procedures?

Gives reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Is animal testing ever justified? Ever since the beginning, it was one of the most controversial topics worldwide. As time goes, supporters and opponents grow; each side has a different perspective passed on specific reasons and moral beliefs. It is acceptable as long as there are strict regulations to prevent the mistreatment of animals. This essay will discuss whether animals should be used or not in testing and confirming new drugs and procedures.

​Animals are biologically similar to humans, they suffer from many of the same health problems such as; cancer, heart disease, and diabetes. Supporters believe that it ensured several diseases' cures not only for humans but also for their species. To clarify, animal experimentation helps understanding the biological function of different mammals, reptiles, and insects; and how it is affected by the disease. Not to mention that it had a huge impact on veterinary medicine, as they were able to save more animal lives. For example, psychoactive drugs, surgical procedures, pain relievers, and organs transplant, all these cures were developed and tested in animals before humans, so they work for both.

​On the other hand, morals stand for animals' rights, some suspect that experiments on animals are unethical, as humans don't have the right to imprison or harm animals under any conditions. To enhance, animals are forced to be subjects for painful experiments mostly without painkillers; and for all that pain, the testing isn't even working. Furthermore, with the fast development of technology, a new way will be invented, and scientists will replace animals with programs and computers.

​To summarize, animals are souls just like humans, and they were the cause for the appearance of the right treatments and vaccines. In my opinion, even though some experiments didn't have a high success rate, they were a turning point in the medical field such as; cancer treatments with 7% in animals, yet worked successfully in humans. Inventing new models by using new technology will be great as it will save many resources, just until that day nothing can replace animal research and its effectiveness. Finally, ask yourself how life will be if we stopped testing on animals then, state your opinion too.