Should Gay Marriage Be Legal?

The hot debate about gay marriage has sparked strong interest in whether or not gay marriage be legal? Undoubtedly, for some people the concept of same-sex marriage is complex and controversial, raising social, religious, moral and political questions, these contrast to those who opines that they too should have access to the same benefits enjoyed by heterosexual married couples.

The current trends and consensus over gay marriage has changed in recent years. The acceptance of gay marriage is as natural as heterosexual marriage. Proponents of legal gay marriage contend that gay marriage bans are discriminatory and unconstitutional. Its acceptance will not only benefit those who belong to this community but also the whole society. A number of countries allow same-sex marriage with number being growing up.

On the other hand, there are many reasons which contend legalization of gay marriage. Marriage has traditionally been defined as being between one man and one woman, and that marriage is primarily for procreation. Its opponents contend that homosexuality is a reversible and unfortunate lifestyle choice. There are many reasons such as poor child-parent relationships, sexual abuse, etc.. cause people to make such choices.

In my view, the gay people also have the right to enjoy same legal rights and protections as other human beings. I believe giving same-sex couples equal benefits as heterosexual couples would entitled them to other benefits too, for example, many companies offer health insurance benefits for married spouses. Not having benefits such as medical claims, inherit partner’s property, family discounts annoy gay and lesbian couples. Such unfair treatment not only frustrate them but is also not good for peace of society. The French president and his gay lady made a good example in support of gay marriage.