Should Men and Women be segregated in professional Sports?

Up until today, it is normal to strictly segregate men and women in sporting events. However, some object to this, saying that the 2 sexes need allowance to compete with one another in the same game. Another party, on the contrary, uses physiological factors to defend the idea. Personally, I mainly agree with the latter and I will explain my opinion later.

Gender equality has always been a hot topic in a variety of fields. While women have been proven to be equal to men in terms of things like intelligence and certain skills, and nowadays be allowed to do the same jobs as men and get equal pay, there are some aspects that need clear boundaries between the 2 genders. And that is related to sports. Naturally, men in general often exceed women in terms of physical attributes: they have more explosive muscle mass and bigger frames, so, in terms of sports that rely on stamina, speed, size, and strength, women can hardly defeat their counterparts. And even though there is some exception about some women who have already been on the same par or even surpassed men in such sports, the majority of females still experience such obvious biological differences.

Some obstinate individuals may say that segregated sports emphasize women’s weaknesses, deny gender equality, or something like that. I’m strongly opposed to this. Because no one is perfect, people have their own specialties. Studies have shown that women tend to be more attentive, flexible, and organized. So it is normal for men to exceed women in some aspects and vice versa.

So do we have to accept that people of both genders cannot compete nor collaborate with each other in sports? The answer is, not really. There are some particular sports that mainly rely on skills, for example, horse racing, motorbike racing, sailing, or darts. And since the ability to perform such games in both genders is similar, they can totally do it together.

Given all these points, there should be a necessary separation for men and women in the Olympics or other sporting events since gender-related difference is a normal fact that we need to accept. People just can't cite gender equality as a reason for any unreasonable idea.