The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is increasingly common to witness people using social media in place of real-life interactions. While this trend can be advantageous for international networking, I believe the downsides of social connections and exposure to fraud are much more significant.

The foremost drawback of reduced in-person dialogue is the detrimental impact on interpersonal relationships. As people go online more often, their engagement in face-to-face conversations with others in their immediate surroundings diminishes significantly, leading to a decrease in the frequency of intimate conversations that foster emotional connection. Consequently, people may be unable to provide essential support when their friends or family members suffer from emotional or psychological difficulties.

In addition, there is the risk of scams associated with the use of online communication in place of traditional physical interactions. It is because cyber-criminals can easily conceal their identity and entice users to provide them with personal details in online conversations. In Vietnam, thousands of cases of online fraud were reported last year with victims unknowingly sending photos of their credit cards over Facebook chat to hackers disguised as bank tellers. Subsequently, their bank accounts were then hacked and all the money was instantly transferred to the criminals’ offshore accounts which are nearly impossible to trace.

However, I admit that communication on social sites such as Twitter or Facebook has fostered cross-border connections that would otherwise not be possible. More specifically, the inexpensive and convenient platforms that these sites offer allow people from different countries to interact more freely and frequently, rather than people only associating with their contemporaries locally. In fact, a number of activities including cultural exchange programs are rooted in these frequent interactions, resulting in enhanced mutual understanding at both individual and global levels.

In conclusion, although the prevalence of communication through social media can contribute to the global community, I am of the opinion that it is rather disadvantageous given the consequences of interpersonal bonds and increased cybercrime. That is why it is advisable that people should limit the use of social media to prioritize and enjoy quality time with those around them.