Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary one, be levied for admittance? Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

In modern society, there is a debate on whether museums and art exhibitions should be free to the public or visitors have to pay to visit. I strongly believe a fee should be charged, and will prove it in this essay.

On the one hand, if the entrance fee is removed, museums and galleries can attract more visitors. Admittedly, many people might not want to spend money on visiting an exhibition because the experience which art galleries and museums can bring is believed to be less interesting and thus, less worthy than other forms of entertainment at the same price such as a concert or amusement park. Hence, by abolishing charges, exhibitions and museums might motivate more visitors to come as people can visit those places without having to pay for tickets. For example, the number of visitors to a museum in Tokyo doubled on days when it was free of charge.

On the other hand, money charged by visitors can support museums and exhibitions’ activities. The revenue from selling tickets can help museums and art galleries to operate more independently and not rely on the national budget which should be spent on more important sectors like education or infrastructure. Moreover, if people have to pay to visit those destinations, they might gain a deeper appreciation of art pieces and historical relics compared to free visitors. Since people tend to respect experiences that require them to pay for more than those that are free, it is reasonable to charge visitors to make them appreciate artworks and historical artifacts. In particular, a survey made by the University of California reported that in an experimental art gallery, people who paid to visit were significantly more likely to perceive and understand the paintings than those who did not have to. As a result, this would raise public awareness of respecting and preserving art and historical values.

In conclusion, income from charging is a substantial financial resource for museums and art galleries. Visitors should be required to pay ticket to fund exhibitions and raise public attention on art and history.