The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe the optimal solution to mitigate the crime rate of youthful citizens is to improve their parents’ ability to educate their offspring. Personally, I strongly advocate this sentiment which will be substantiated in the following essay.

To begin with, parents can strongly influence people during their childhood which play a pivotal role in determining their personalities. Naturally, infants tend to imitate their parents actions and attitudes, meaning that the way parents behave toward their kids can significantly shape their cognition and behaviors which last throughout their life and is almost impossible to be adjusted. Hence, it might be pernicious for kids to have agressive or ignorant parents as the vicious emotional and physical contact with their birthgiver during initial years might result in an unhealthy mentality which might fuel future delinquencies. Moreover, even if parents behave themselves but give inappropriate upbringings to their children at this phase, kids might still be detrimentally impacted. If children commit a wrongful action, for example aggressive violence with their peers, and their parents are unaware or overprotective of them, over time it might lead to a distorted mindset of kids believing their delinquent actions are rational which might incite children to engage in illegal activities in the future.

Therefore, parental skills among citizens who have children should receive more attention from law enforcers as the most effective way to reduce young crime rate. Firstly, as parents act as a frame that shapes children’s characteristics, good behavior can be imparted via appropriate and polite attitude of parents toward their offspring. Thus, parents should be able to ascertain signs of irrational behaviors in their children in order to improve them as they can pay a more holistic and regular attention to their kids than schools or the government. Furthermore, with good parenting skills, people would be able to give the essential lessons of laws to their children, for example, teaching them which actions are illegal. This can foster in kids an early perception and knowledge on society and legislation, preventing them from committing delinquent activities, thus helping children become law-abiding citizens when they grow up which can significantly diminish crime rate.

In conclusion, the potential that young citizens engage in crimes is predominantly prompted by the lack of parental education and attention in their childhood. Countries should invest more in improving parenting skills as its impact on kids can significantly alleviate crimes among young individuals.