Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is a tendency that small businesses shall be prudent in hiring juvenile female staff. It is argued that once on board, they may start their families and apply for maternal care benefits, which will cost the business both time and money. While such employers are arguably conducting a discriminatory act, they are also missing out in huge opportunities. I strongly disagree with such discrimination and present my arguments while discussing solutions in this essay.

Indeed exclusion of such segment in recruitment process is in the disadvantage of a business. Every year a pool of fresh female graduates become available in the job market that can benefit a business. When hired their remuneration demands are usually lesser in contrast with more experienced applicants. This type of cost savings will enable the business to focus on development of their core products. In addition, when they are given a chance, young women are highly motivated in order to learn valuable experience from and contribute to a business. It is also easier to train young females and males alike due to their eagerness and curiosity.

On the other hand, It is against the law to avoid hiring an individual for their potential maternity costs. Such behaviour is deemed as discrimination and can bring unpleasant consequences.

In order to avoid such scenarios, businesses shall seek profound solutions. One of the alternatives can be that the responsibility among parents through a shared parenting leave plan is distributed, where both father and mother will take care of their newborn in rotation.

To conclude, the concept of unmarried women inflicting a business financially in the long run is based on erroneous and short-sighted assumptions. Business leaders ought to ponder on the potential benefits a business can receive by employing this part of the workforce.