Some people think that the only way to have success in business is to have a unique product.

What factors, do you think, influence the success of a company?

The question of what makes a business successful will have various responses if you ask from different people. However, there is a notion that a business achieve success when it offers a product with distinct features. Yet, some disagree and believe that the key to a successful business lies in good marketing and customer care. Although I understand the importance of many factors in making a business successful, but believe that the uniqueness and creativity of a product stands above all.

Some may argue that a good product will bring value to the customers and thus attract its users like a magnet. A good product will aim to fulfil the needs of its customers in an innovative way. In the process of such efficiency, it will affect growth of its sales and taking larger market share than the products in the competing category, which were unable to satisfy the customers. For example when the iPhone was introduced in the market, it offered unique features to the smartphones users - that its competitors lacked - and took a very large slice of profits in the market. This new smartphone had a better camera, fast RAM, an easy-to-use operating system and good design, among many of its distinct features. Consequently, its manufacturer - the Apple company - became the leader of this industry and drove many other smartphone manufacturers out of business, such as Nokia.

On the other hand some advocate the idea that good marketing and customers services are main factors that create a path for a business to succeed. First, for a profit-seeking entity they argue, it is immensely important to have effective marketing campaigns to promote their products or services. As an example, when the advertisements of Coca Cola or Pepsi - the leaders in the soft drinks industry - intensifies, their sales surge accordingly. Secondly, no venture will succeed unless they put customers as their priority, they add. To keep the customers need in the spotlight, a business will find how to respond to customers problems and enhance their products, which will lead them toward their goal of being profitable. Taking this into account, large corporations have dedicated teams to identify problems and provide solutions to their customers.

In conclusion, it is important to note that numerous variables contribute in the success of a business. Good customers relations and marketing are important variables out of that pool. However, an exceptional product will never bring failure to a business.