Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today In the interest of public health governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products Do you agree or disagree

Smoking causes major damages to the health of the public. Health insurance companies are considered to pay for these illnesses. Although there are valid points to the contrary, in this essay I will contend why banning tobacco and relavant products will not result in an enhancement in public health.

Firstly, it is vitally importanct to notice that forbidding people to do something will not neseccarily lead to an actual avoidance. Although at first it might sound influencial to ban the usage of cigarettes, yet, it might cause many other side effects which are even more threatening. The tabacco industry facing an obstacle, might decide turning into an illigal industry, and persue the demand of its’ costumers. Meanwhile costumers, furuious by the regulations applied by the decision makers, might persist purchasing cigaretts. It is even likely that forcing people not to purchase cigaretts, would backfire, and a dramatic growth in the number of new smokers takes place.

Secondly, and even more importantly, is the lack of governal control over an illigal industry. Cigarrets being banned, people will buy it anyway, while the government will not be able to have a control over the industry and to check the minimum standards of the quality of the products. Therefor, even more health threatening issues migh come up, following by a decreas in ailments ensued by smoking cigaretts.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position on the inefficiency of illigalizing tabacco industry thoroughly. Instead, it is far more effective to run educational campains and informing the public the dangers smoking cigaretts cause, both short and long term.