Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people put forward the idea that smoking is not only detrimental for smokers, but also for those who stand close to them. So smoking have to be forbidden in public places. I fully agree with this statement and in the essay I will give some reasons for it.

it is obvious that smoking is harmful, however not all of us know that passive smoking can be more dangerous than active one. Especially it is risky for children and for pregnants. active or passive, both of them lead to to lung cancer and other diseases. Ban will slightly decrease amount of cancer and air pollution and increase health of nation.

Opponents can say that it is decision of passive smokers to inhale the emanating puff when they stand near to smokers, so they have to take responsibility for their choices and not restrict others freedom, however opponents forget that they also take choice from other people when they smoke publically. Ban of public smoking will not mean that individuals can not smoke at all, it means that there will be few areas where it can be permitted.

Even if forbid of public smoking will be detrimental for business particularly for bars, pubs and clubs, government shoild make a resolution to make smoking in public areas illegal. Because between healt and wealth of small group of people it has to prefer nation's health and safety.

In conclusion, ban is necessary for well-being of citizens, even if it has bad impact on business. Forbid to smoke publically will not mean prohibit smoking at all or smokers will not have a place to smoke, there will be smoking zones where individuals have right to smoke.