social media

These days, online conversations using social media apps such as Facebook, Twitter and Skype is replacing face-to-face contact. While it is argued that this development has both benefits and drawbacks, I would believe that the disadvantages are much more considerable.

In terms of the advantages, social networking site has made it much more easier to maintain current relationships and build new connections. In the past, when our relatives or friend lived far apart from us, we were likely to lose their contact. Nowadays, with the help of social media, we can maintain our current relationship by chatting or using video call features of Skype, Facebook or other apps anytime and anywhere. Take my mom as an example, when I were in the field trip, she could use video call features of Viber to keep in touch with me and find my up-to-date information through my status on Facebook. Moreover, we can build new connections sharing the same interest by searching hashtags and even more in the thread's comments or topics related to our interests.

However, I believe that the negative consequences of this development far eclipse its positive impacts discussed above. First, social networking sites are attracting more and more users from different age groups. Although they have some rules to restrict them to some inappropriate content, they still can make up their ages to create an account and watch it. Second, social networking websites can become a toxic environment giving their users a right to assault and bully others, because they are hiding behind the screen and not responsible for their hateful and abusive comments. Third, overuse of social media to communicate leads to a decrease in the quality of communication. Many people are addicted to social media, they tend to build a spectacular profile to connect and keep chatting with strangers instead of talking to their family members or friends in real life. Therefore, they are no longer have real-life circles of friends or even losing their supportive relationships which are the fabric of society.

To conclude, my view is that the benefits offered by social networking sites are undeniable yet outweighed by the disadvantages including inappropriate contents, cyberbullying, and the fragmented society mentioned above.