Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

I am convinced that social media like Facebook and Twitter plays an essential role in our daily life. Obviously, the popularity of social media goes up with time amongst all age sectors. Nevertheless, there is an important concern about the potential risks of sharing personal information on such websites. In my opinion, the possible advantages of social media outweigh its disadvantages.

Since the advent and spread of social media, some argue that it is easier to spy on and illegally collect private data. Thereafter, this data can be used to harm or threaten many persons. For example, some hackers may steal someone’s account and beg his friends for money. Moreover, many of us are social media addicts and stay chatting for many hours with our friends.

Nevertheless, the benefits of social media are numerous and extremely beneficial. We can communicate with friends and family members at any time and at a low-cost. A good example of this is when we travel abroad and want to keep in touch with our relatives. So, it is easy to call them and send them some pictures of important moments. Certain websites like Facebook offer the option of selling or buying products, like furniture, without the need for a third-party. Notably, expressing your ideas and perspectives is not under any kind of surveillance or interference anymore. Therefore, the role of newspapers and even T.V programs has diminished in the last few years.

In conclusion, I greatly agree that the benefits of social media overcome its potential side effects. However, we should be cautious when sharing our data or multimedia, like pictures or videos. In addition, everyone should avoid the overuse of certain websites.