Social network

Social networking sites such as Facebook are thought by the vast majority of people to have had a detrimental effect on individuals as well as society and local communities. Nonetheless, in my opinion, while such sites are mainly beneficial to individuals, I agree that they have had a damaging effect on local communities.

On the one hand, the impact of online social media has had on individuals has clear advantages. Firstly, many people from different countries have been brought together through such sites such as Facebook and Zalo, whereas before the significant development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had the chance to meet and communicate with anyone outside their immediate circle and communities. Secondly, Facebook also has social groups which offer numerous people an opportunity to meet and participate in discussions with other people who share common interests.

On the other hand, the effects that Facebook and online social media have had on society can be seen as negative. Rather than taking part in local communities, a number of people are instead choosing to take more interests in the virtual world. Consequently, these people may no longer be interested in forming close and supportive relationships. Furthermore, the society as a whole can become disjointed and fragmented if more and more people spend more time with people who they have not met face to face and who they are unlikely to ever meet in the future.

To conclude, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer, they have not had the same effect on society and social communities. Therefore, local communities should make efforts to involve local people in local activities, in order to promote social interaction between them.