More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

One of the most common occurrences in digital world is the availability of personal information online for daily activities, such as social networking or banking. Despite some advantages, I opine that this development is largely detrimental.

On the one hand, the presence of personal data online produces certain values. Regarding services, it enhances customers’ experience by making signing up accounts more convenient for users and expediting the linking process among online applications. To illustrate, to register a stock account, investors do not have to go to stock companies and complete lots of paperwork like in the past but can process online. As their identity information on exchange app is synchronized and linked with their banking accounts, trading activities can be conducted online and transaction history is sent to email for recording. Moreover, by providing online contacts, people can get notified of news they want to be updated. For instance, job seekers can leave their email addresses on LinkedIn and filter out all kinds of jobs they demand so that any new hiring information will be sent to their emails.

However, I believe that this is a negative tendency because of potential severe risks associated with it. For one, the private information shared online can be exploited for illicit purposes such as financial fraud. For example, a hacker known as “Hieu PC” stole thousands of social security numbers of American workers and then resold them on an anonymous broker’s online platform to earn money. Secondly, when users provide their information to social media companies, online shops, or banks, there is still a slight chance that these companies will sell it to telesales people or even malicious parties. Consequently, people would be bothered by anonymous calls to sell products and services or even deceptive calls. A typical example is cases when bad guys pretend to be relatives and call to borrow money.

In conclusion, despite undeniable benefits, I reckon putting up private details online is a negative development. It is therefore necessary to be cognizant of the risks associated with this decision, and even more so to take steps to protect oneself.