More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology nowadays, one of the most common occurrences in digital world is the avalability of personal information online provided in details for their daily activities, such as social networking or banking. Despite some advantages associated with it, I suppose that this development is largely detrimental.

On the one hand, the increased presence of personal data online has enhanced users’ experience of goods and services. First and foremost, it makes signing up accounts much more convenient for users and expedites the linking process among different online applications. To illustrate, to open up a stock account or conduct any transaction, investors nowadays do not have to go to stock companies and complete lots of paperwork like in the past but can save time by providing information online and linking online banking accounts with stock exchange apps. Another benefit is that by providing online contact, such as email, and Facebook, people can get notified of any news or information they want to update daily. For instance, job seekers can leave their email addresses on the LinkedIn app and filter out all kinds of jobs they want to apply for so that any new hiring information will be sent directly to their email.

However, I suppose that this is a negative tendency because of the potential severe risks associated with it. Firstly, the private information shared online including one’s name, address, phone number, or social security number can be exploited for illicit purposes such as financial fraud. A hacker known as “Hieu PC” is a prime example who stole thousands of social security numbers of American workers through a sophisticated coded program and resold them on an anonymous broker’s online platform and earned millions of dollars. On a less serious note, when users give out their information to social media companies, online shops, or banks, there is still a slight chance that these companies will sell it to telesales people or even malicious parties. Consequently, people would be bothered by anonymous calls to sell products and services or even worse deceptive calls.

n conclusion, despite certain benefits, I believe that many people putting up their private details online is detrimental. It is therefore necessary to be cognizant of the risks associated with this decision, and even more so to take steps to protect oneself.