social networks

With social media growing at an extremely fast speed, the information each user consumes and transmits has become a major point of concern. Many argue that to benefit the whole community, each of its citizens must regard what they post on social networks in a responsible manner. I completely agree with this statement for several reasons.

First of all, it is obvious that digital items shared via social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, can have realistic impacts. The world has witnessed various serious incidents caused by seemingly harmless information spreading through their mobile devices. For example, during the outbreak of the new corona virus, some people took advantage of the frightened public and posted fake news on their accounts to attract views and attention, many of them tried to excuse their wrongdoing as “just a joke”, at the expense of truthful reporting. Consequently, this has caused unnecessary confusion for all citizens about what was happening and hindered the government’s effort to control the viral outbreak.

Second, holding yourself accountable for what you share on your social media is ultimately beneficial for maintaining a healthy and positive image. Social media have become so popular that in many cases, an employer may consider the content found on your account when deciding whether you are a suitable candidate. Besides, your family members, friends, together with everyone in your network, will be likely to refer to your activities on your social networks to draw conclusions about who you are. Thus, being responsible for what you post on such platforms is also being responsible for how you portray yourself in front of others.

Many may argue that since the information is only displayed digitally on a small screen, it is not worth being considered a real threat in any case. However, these people fail to take into consideration how fast such content can be transmitted from devices to devices, thus reaching a large group of people almost instantly. While there has been legislation trying to control toxic information from being uploaded and spreading, it has never proven to be enough. All social network users themselves must be the first to treat digital materials with a sense of responsibility and virtue.

All in all, I agree strongly that all social media users must be responsible for everything they upload on their digital networks to benefit society as well as themselves.