Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Many people suggest that rules and laws are introduced to maintain the stable order of the society, which act as deterrent for residents from absent minded actions. While this proposal exhibits conducive to some extent, I opine that those laws exert negative pressure to its residents.

To begin with, some politicians may argue that it is essential to reinforce the rules or laws to control people’s behaviours. In addition, by imposing tough regulations can the officials set boundaries for their residents who, in turn, behave with others more friendly. In fact, if there is no justice system for a society, it is likely that the police forces cannot use their right to urge offenders to comply the regulations, leading to the deteriorated upheavals. However, this proposal seems to be temporary due to the widespread impacts on the rest of society, which includes a vast majority of law-abiding citizens.

Despite the aforementioned benefit, I would content that laws and rules systems brough to mordern society cause more harm than good. To be more specific, it is deemed that the authorities explicitly favour certain groups in the society. Therefore, it is disavantaged for those who belong to the minority. For example, there are more and more strikes in the US to protect the right of black people who are oppressed by the prejudice of the laws, resulting in the numerous deaths of them annually. Indeed, I believe that it is better if the officials and their residents should negotiate to reach an final consensus that can balance the benefit of each counterpart.

In conclusion, while potential orders to maintain the society is tangible, I opine that its drawbacks should be taken into account.