Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a strong argument that having a good rule of law is essential for the smooth functioning of society. I tend to completely agree with this view, however, I believe that there are some occasions that reducing regulations can bring positive effects on both society and individuals.

On the one hand, I believe reducing regulations can contribute to some positive effects. for example, most people hate to work in an environment that has strict regulations, and there is someone who always reminds them of the terms and tells them what to do. so if they give more freedom and autonomy, they may not only feel more motivated, but they are more likely to flourish in their roles. Moreover, reducing regulations also can promote innovation and creativity. As an instance, when governments impose fewer regulations on the design of new houses, people are enabled to use their creativity and imaginations to build unique and modernized houses that can make the city visually appealing.

On the other hand, I advocate the idea that a strong rule of law is vital for the smooth operation and sustainable development of a country. empirical evidence has shown that the weak role of low is a major hindrance to social and economic progress. without good governance and rule of law, corruption is nurtured in every tier of governments that would affects businesses operations, investments, employments, and consequently the quality of people’s lives. Rules also are necessary because they ensure safety in society and guarantee the basic rights of people.

In conclusion, while I accept that reducing regulations on some aspects can coutribute to the further development of society, in general, society could not survive without rules.