Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were
free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It has been noted that the rule of law is the foundation of modern civilisation.
While some believe that a society without laws can function properly thanks to
human characteristics, I contend that it will completely collapse due to bad
behaviour.
On the one hand, certain shared beliefs have made countries with no official rules
possible throughout the history of mankind. In fact, centuries before the first laws
were introduced, the ancient Chinese had been able to gather in millions as a
nation to save them from natural disasters and enemies since they all shared an
intuitive sense of community. Furthermore, in modern Bhutan, national or
organisational rules are essentially redundant as most citizens already live in
harmony with each other as the result of Buddhist practices which promote
compassion across races or social classes.
Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that if people are free to do whatever they desire,
social order would be destroyed by misbehaviour. In Vietnam, for example, at a
crowded intersection without clear regulations and instructions, many commuters
would happily block others for a quick pass. Worse still, if there is an accident,
some ill-tempered drivers are quick to throw punches at each other right in the
middle of the road, which instantly brings the traffic to a complete standstill. As
similar consequences can be predicted in other fields such as commerce and
politics, the normal operation at a societal level is likely to collapse entirely.
In conclusion, civilisations without agreed rules could exist if citizens possessed
specific qualities. However, I believe societies will stop operating because of poorly-
behaved individuals. From my perspective, governments should continue to enact
strict laws that promote discipline and order for their countries to thrive in the
modern era.