The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

There is no denying the fact that advertisement plays a vital role in human life. The advertisement is the backbone of commerce and industry. It is a source of information as well as the source of entertainment. It is important for us. These days are the days of marketing. We cannot think of life without advertisement. Without advertisements, life is like a fish without water. No businessman or industrialist can ever hope of tapping the market without proper advertisement. Advertisements are all around us - on television, radio and newspaper.

Apropos to above parable about the conversation, many people hold the opinion that advertisement is an important part of our life because the advertisement is the best way to educate the people. For instance, they inform the people about new products, their uses, merits and other similar products available in the market. Moreover, many advertisements are issued by the government agencies, NGOs, and social welfare organisation which have great value in education the people. Furthermore, advertisements raise the standard of living of the people.

On the flip side, those who disagree with this point of view mention that those advertisements have their disadvantages because they distort and exaggerate reality. In addition to it, they aim at profits. Furthermore, another objection is that many advertisements are bad for that they provide the wrong information to the people. Besides this, the producers have become profit hungry. They throw the moral values to the winds.

To conclude, I pen down by stating that advertisements put deep influence on the people’s mind. Some advertisements advise people the direction of the right path. Good advertisements help the people to choose the right products and make informed decisions.