The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose and can even be damaging. To waht extent do do agree or disagree?

Many people belive that all kinds of advertisements should be prohibited as they bring no practical values and even negatively affect customers. While the excessive proliferation of commercials may exert detrimental impacts on people, I still belive that the governments should not impose a ban on advertising.

On the one hand, the surge in the quantities of advertisements can have a negative influence on consumers. First, rather than being well-informed bout a new line of products, people now are bombarded with all kinds of advertisements not only on TV but also on the Internet. Such information overload has become a disturbance to many people, especially when their favorite TV programmes are interrupted by irrelevant promotions. Second, some attractive endorsements, which consist of stunning pictures, special effects and strong messages can also encourage people to purchase things that they do not really need. For instance, many young woman are tempted to buy a large number of cosmetic products in order to become more beautiful. However, in reality, most of these products are of little use to consumers.

On the other hand, I still belive that it would be a grave detriment to society if all forms of advertising were banned as advertisements play a vital role in creating free market and healthy economy. The basic function of advertisements is to inform people about newly launched products, which is significant for those who are still unware of such products. This means that consumers will have more option to choose, enabling them to purchase better products with cheaper prices. In addition, advertising is also an effective way which business use to promoite their products or services in order to approach potential customers. If governments imposed a ban on all kinds of advertisements, these companies would be pushed to the verge of bankruptcy. This could greatly damage the national economy and result in an increase in unemployment rate.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of commercials, there should not be a prohibition against all forms of advertising.