Some believe that charitable organizations should help people no matter where they live. Others argue that charities should only help those living in the country where the charity is based. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is deemed by a section of society that the non-profit organization organizations should only extend aid to the local population instead of working with people of other nations; others, however, disagree and claim that geography should not be a factor in determining whether needy people get help or not. I believe that although it might seem difficult to run relief operations overseas, yet the institutions must try their best to help ease the pain of down-trodden populace irrespective of where they live.

The view that charities should only help people living near them is bolstered by some reasons. The first argument that is made in this idea’s favor is that it is would be considerably easier for the charitable trusts to give a hand to the people in their own locality. The reason behind this view is, the country’s own organizations would be more sympathetic to the plights of the deprived as they would be aware of the context and the circumstances of their area much better than some international trust. Thus, they would be able to give personalized support rather than meaninglessly pouring money to a cause that they do not understand. Secondly, since the charity collects majority of the money from the philanthropists, companies or organizations in their vicinity, it only makes sense to return back to the same society which has given something to them. It is also understandable that in order to assert influence over the people of their country, those help givers may want to be promoted as such in the area only from where they will gain something, either in the form of money, reputation or goodwill.

However, helping people overseas may harbor much more benefits to the charity, and to the country where it has its roots, I believe. The most conspicuous advantage is rise in profile of the source country. It is obvious that if an aid organization helps the plight stricken of other country, it will become famous, and the same will happen to its nation. This will also increase the sense of brotherhood and enhance the connections among various nations and their natives. Apart from this, not every nation healthy enough from fiscal perspectives, so the population of these nations may be left on their own. In these cases, only the NGO’s of financially sound areas are able to give provisions to the needy. For example, Africa is a country which has sought help from charities from around the world so that its people can lead a better life.

In conclusion, I vehemently believe that due to some reasons, mostly money related, it is far better to provide aid without taking into account some man-made boundaries.