Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? Should this be taught in schools?

Regarding students’ education, some people hold the view that children should learn to give speeches and presentations. From my perspective, because there are innumerable benefits derived from the tendency, it should be added into the schools’ syllabus.

It is beyond doubt that the schools’ implementation of presentations’ classes can develop the skills needed in the future. That is to say, in the academic career, they are expected to give speeches and presentations individually or in the group; therefore, communication skills adopted in schools have a vital role to play. In fact, should a learner possess good demonstration skills, they will enhance their chances of getting a place in renowned conglomerates. Moreover, only by adding speeches’ lessons can educational institutions meet the requirement of innovating teaching methods. Unlike orthodox methods that focus on the teachers, the student-centered approach in education can make children take active parts in the learning process. To be more specific, learners have to do research and assignments at home instead of listening to the lectures provided. In addition, the communication skills can not be self-studied or copied from the Internet but taught; thus, schools shoulder the major liability for equipping children with good skills of making speeches.

Furthermore, the presentations’ courses can develop numerous skills holistically. Undeniably, children can build up self-confidence during the process of learning as they have to control the mood, content and critical thinking. Additionally, in some cases, they have to face unexpected situations such as difficult enquiries from the audience; thus, in order to become skillful, they have to adopt a plethora of skills and confidence. Taking the shy child as an example, the newly-added lessons can encourage them to step out of their comfort zone.

In conclusion, adding the presentations and speeches in the curriculum can exert numerous desirable consequences; hence, children should be encouraged to take part in such classes.