Some believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import films and TV programmes, while others think it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programmes.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that importing films and TV programmes is good for a country’s culture, whereas others claim that producing these locally is better. This essay will discuss further in detail the two sides of the issue and illustrate my viewpoint.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why foreign films and TV telecasts are regarded as a good part which contribute to a country’s culture. First, thanks to watching imported films and shows, viewers can broaden their horizons. For example, by watching a British school film, people can know about the way teens study there and their daily school life, so students from other countries can sum up selective learning methods to make progress. Second, importing movies and TV programmes is a good choice for some nations to economize. Because they will not need to spend time birthing the idea and producing films or shows which takes much time and money, their economy may be significantly improved.

On the other hand, creating TV programmes and movies domestically still benefit the country’s culture in many ways. To begin with, if screenplays are made locally, it will be suitable for most domestic viewers to enjoy movies and shows. To be specific, the reason why a majority of local people will enjoy these shows is that they can clearly understand some cultural details which are not likely to be understood by foreign viewers. In addition, a country having its own films helps citizens acquire more knowledge about their country’s culture, history, geography and so on. For example, by watching historical documentary films, one can know about what their ancestors did to develop their country, and as a result, the national pride and appreciation will increase.

In conclusion, although both two sides of the issue have their own benefits to the host country in some cases, I personally support the idea saying that imported films and shows are important for a country’s culture because existing depraved traditional practices in some places should be eliminated and replaced by better concepts from the outside world. However, the host country should have a balance between imported and domestic shows to gain maximum benefits.