Some people think the qualities a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is argued by some that universities or institutions do not play vital roles in forming an individual's qualities that lead to success. In my perspective, I partly agree that higher education is essential for students, but I think they should gain more life experience to become successful.

There are a number of reasons why some people believe that formal education is helpful for them. Firstly, by attending universities or college, youngsters have more chances to acquire specialised knowledge about their fields with modern facilities. For example, one who wants to become a laboratory technician must study at a university because laboratories are available there. Secondly, students can develop their soft skills in an educational environment. In fact, they are allowed to work in groups for some study activities, so they can learn about organizational and planning skills through those activities as well as improve their teamwork skills when they work together.

However, to become successful, school lessons are not enough for youngsters, so they need to learn from real life. If students just focus on theoretical lectures, they are likely to fail in practice. For instance, excellent degree holders of history nowadays can be unemployed because their knowledge may not be completely applicable for some jobs. Furthermore, there are some skills such as communication and decision-making people cannot learn from universities. In fact, modern achievers are often able to communicate confidently as well as solve problems convincingly because their skills are sharpened by experiencing life situations.

In conclusion, although attending tertiary education is supportive for learners, real-life experience is also necessary for them. By cultivating both practical skills and specialised knowledge, youngsters are able to be successful people.