Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The most powerful weapon, which we all know, is the nuclear weapon. And along with it, are the consequences that we have witnessed in human history. However, some people believe that it brings advantages to the world. I disagree with this viewpoint, and I will explain why in the following paragraphs.

First, because of the devastating destructive power of nuclear weapons on humans and the environment, moral and ethnic values should be considered when deciding whether or not to use them. For example, the two cities in Japan experienced a direct detonation that caused a mass loss of civilian life from nuclear weapons that would go far beyond any other weapon invented. This resulted in the deaths of over 200,000 civilians and military personnel on both sides of the conflict. Moreover, in the quest to develop this technology, researchers have generated about 2000 test explosions since 1980, which has increased the exposure of the world’s population to radiation and the unrestrained release into the environment of the radioactive materials that have been dispersed and deposited everywhere on the planet, which may lead to the contamination of air, soil, water, and the food supply. Second, when the detonations of nuclear weapons occur, they will release radiation, which is a scientifically proven carcinogen in humans, such as lung and breast cancers.

Admittedly, there are some advantages to nuclear weapons, such as defending a country’s border, generating electricity from nuclear reactors, or helping to diagnose and treat several diseases. However, compared to the disadvantages that humans and the environment have suffered, the consequences seem worse than the benefits that have been achieved so far.

In conclusion, using destructive weapons is not the right way to make the world a peaceful place to live because it has negative effects on people and the environment.