Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is believed that the Olympic games help bring people from different parts of the world together, while others contend that the money spent for the Olympic games could be used for other issues. Both of the views will be discussed in this essay before a conclusion is reached.

Beginning with the view that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, it is considered one of the main values beyond the impacts on societies or economies. To be specific, each four years, athletes from all over the world will gather in the host country for the Olympic games. This is not only a simple competition but also a great chance for international people to learn and exchange cultures, which strengthens bonds among different nations globally or even enhance a vulnerable relationship between two countries. For example, in the Olympic games 2018, there was a picture of South Korean and North Korean athletes, which is forbidden for each citizens in both nations. The picture later became an iconic symbol during 2018 and showed the spirit that the competition wants to spread.

Turning to an alternative viewpoint that the Olympics wastes money which could be used for more significant issues. To hold the Olympics, the host country has to spend millions of dollars for stadiums, facilities and amenities. For instance, it is estimated that Brazil spent over hundred million dollars to prepare for the Olympics in 2018. The glamorous of these games has foreshadowed many problems that Brazil was confronting at that time. Other issues such as medical care, infrastructure and people’s lives was ignored. This will lead to a myriad of social issues such as crimes, slumps which has not been tackled by the government for years.

In conclusion, I believe there are some negative consequences of holding the Olympic games, but host countries will unequivocally consider the significant merits, which is not only improving the economies but also strengthening relationships between nations.