Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As time goes on, people tend to travel abroad to satisfy themselves. To a certain extent I agree that this tendency has a negative impact on the host countries. However, I also believe that the countries travelled gain certain benefits through this travel.

Beginning with the view that travelling has detrimental effects on the host countries, the first thing to be considered is environmental and historical damage. To be specific, several attractions are exploited excessively by the governments without being preserved. This current situation makes these places vulnerable; therefore, even a minor number of tourists can damage these destinations. In 2019, Brazil had to constrain international tourists from visiting the Amazon which is in danger. Besides, lives of local people may be influenced in a negative way. For example, to prepare for the World Cup 2022 in Qatar, several deaths of workers are resulted from being forced to work overtime in an extreme climate and poor conditions.

Turning to an alternative view, tourism has brought certain positive imapcts on economies of host countries. Tourism has become one of many factors contributing to the economies of many countries. Particularly, many countries’ economies depend on tourism. For instance, in 2020, due to Covid 19 which prevented tourists around the world from travelling, Thailand had the first negative growth after many years. Another interesting point is that tourism provives jobs. Hotels, bars, restaurants and constructions all need a huge number of workers. Tourism can raise a demand for employment in host countries. Therefore, habitants will have more fulfilling lives and better life standards.

In conclusion, while international tourists can somewhat affect the host counties, I believe the positive impacts are more considerable and significant.