Some believe that younger family members should be responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally, and financially unable to look after themselves, while other people argue that this responsibility belongs to the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have differing views about whether or not grown-up children should be required to offer financial, physical and mental well-being for their parents and grandparents when they are not able to take good care of themselves. In my perspective, I hold the view that this burden should be shouldered not only by young family members but also the local authority.

On one hand, it is believed that the young relatives should be held accountable for the health of the elderly for some justifications, chief of which is about moral perspective. In fact, most senior family members devoted their lives to educate as well as support mentally and physically their offspring in college. By way of illustration, a large proportion of Vietnamese parents often bring up their children both emotionally and physical, so they are prone to have some health problems resulting from their hard and dedicated work in the past. Therefore, if the elder do not gain support from their offspring, they can suffer from more illness and even spend the rest of their life struggling with the pain in solitude, which is against the traditional moral base.

On the other hand, policy-makers should also share the pressure of looking after senior citizens for some reasons. One of the major rationales is that the elderly contributed to the national prosperity by paying taxes or gaining achievements at work. Hence, they should receive well-deserved care as the recognition of their great effort to the development of the country. This governmental support could take the form of retirement pension schemes or the public provision of free medical services, this might be regarded as the motivation for the young workforce to devote to their national economy.

To sum up, it is undeniable that the elders should be taken care by their children when above seventeen according to the standard of morality, while I agree that governmental involvement is of equal importance.