The first man to walk on the moon claimed it was a step forward for mankind. However, it has made little difference in most people’s live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When Lance Armstrong put his footstep on the moon, he contended that this milestone will change the way people live their ordinary life. However, a majority of residents argue that this groundbreaking accomplishment did not contribute to better life. From my perspective, I agree with those who hold the view that is so-called achievement did not influence positively on day-to-day lives.

On the first hand, there are some convincing justifications behind the confidence of the first moon walker, chief of which is that the step forward opened a door to the finding of other inhabitable planets. As a matter of fact, the world population is witnessing a dramatic increase, if this trend continues, the whole humanity may be confronted with the situation where people have to struggle and go to war for the place of living. Nevertheless, the first human settlement on the moon stated that thanks to the technological breakthrough of transport and energy, human can travel vast distance in space. Therefore, if people run out of living space, they totally can relocate on another planet and start a new civilization. This prospect might be the explanation behind the optimism of the man who was given credit for the first conquering the moon.

On the other hand, I lean toward the argument held by the majority that this step forward did not make eminent impact on the way we live our normal life. In fact, a large proportion of citizens do not have access to education and medical healthcare. Furthermore, the sum of money which should have been used to mitigate the social issues, was allocated to the launch of manned spacecraft. As a result, from a popular perspective, this allocation of resources was wasteful because they think that space discovery was nothing more than an arena of global competition between superpowers in the world.

To sum up, while the thought of the first astronaut exploring the Moon is understandable, I wholeheartedly approve that this so-called advancement seem not to have any clear positive benefits to the daily life.