Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skill. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions.

It is true that nowadays fresh employees are not equipped with fundamental social skills in their workplace. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon, and it should have several solutions to tackle

There are two primary reasons why the workers lack basic interpersonal skills. One reason might derive from their own home life. Lot of families, these days, are no longer close as they were in the past. They rarely share and talk to each other, even their personal problems after their hard-working day. Meal times are not available because they are busy to pursue their personal interest rather than sit down, dine and share together. Furthermore, cooperation is not really encouraged at school. Individual achievement sounds more important than teamwork. Many teachers want to assess and evaluate the result individually because it is likely to judge in a fair way than group-work. Therefore, the students do not have great chances to practice and work together

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent this problem. The first solution would be developing cooperative skills at school. It is essential to have more group-work activities in the curriculum to encourage the cooperation. Let’s take history subject as an example. The students might be required to do a presentation about a historic building in their neighborhood rather than do an exercise about a history event. Besides, extra-curricular activities should be adopted on weekends to reinforce the bonds between the students such as playing football, singing or dancing. In addition, the managers also need to enact strict rules at the working place to develop interpersonal skills of new staffs. They would have to find and work with senior employees or they might be fired soon

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for lacking of soft skills and steps should be taken to tackle this problem.