Some children find some subjects as mathematics and philosophy are too difficult to learn so some people argue that those subjects should be optional rather than compulsory To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is no doubt that the subjects, especially, mathematics and philosophy are considered tough by the students. Some people put forward the argument that these subjects should not be mandatory so that students can choose subjects as per their choice. I think that these must be involved in school curriculum because these two subjects are important for learners.

According to me mathematics and philosophy are an integral part of syllabus of school due to considerable reasons. First of all, in every country higher authorities make sure some subjects for students that are compulsory to study until tenth standard which are like mathematics, sociology, science, English etcetera. Moreover, the main purpose of teaching these subjects is to increase knowledge of learners in every field because every kind of knowledge is required for holistic development of children. That is why, because of compulsion maths and philosophy could not be separated from schedule of school curriculum. Secondly, studying mathematics can not be underestimated as in everyday life almost everyone uses mathematical skills in direct or indirect way such as counting, adding, subtraction, division or multiplication. For example, A person can count money if he knows how to count and the most important thing is that everyone needs money for earning bread and butter so everyone should learn mathematics otherwise that person can not survive in this competitive era. Finally, mathematics does not only help in daily activities but also provides some qualities such as critical thinking, power of reasoning, brings creativity and enhances ability. While it brings valuable qualities for the children, it infuses how to solve tough problems in life in order to get rid of confusions and make life smoother and easier.

Besides this, another subject is philosophy which also could not be ignored by keeping as a option. It inculcates a valuable lesson of life as this describes about human attributes and their connection with entire world that is primary thing to know about. In addition to this, if scholars would know about themselves and how they are linked to the world then they can live a better life. Even though students regard it a boring and difficult subject but this is a start of good life because it leads to the power of solving problems and promotes communication skills. Consequently, children can be independent as they grow because they will know how to solve issues and go forward in life. Most importantly, decision making skills are needs in every stage of life because the person who is good decision maker can take decision everywhere without discussing with anyone else.

To conclude, although a few people advices that mathematics and philosophy subjects should be optional because least students are interested in this yet I strongly believe that these subjects should be mandatory because of their huge benefits.