Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

It is true that national and local authorities have adopted different policies to solve the housing problem in the cities. While many people think that building more apartments would be an effective solution, others prefer to see their city expand. I would argue that the best solution is to expand the city in a planned and organized way.

On the one hand, there are some short-term benefits of constructing towel blocks to provide housing in cities. A city may lack of space to expand for some geographical reason such as coastline, mountains or lakes, therefore tall buildings are the most economical option to satisfy citizen’s need for accommodation. In addition, if more people live in apartments, housing will be more affordable. However, the major drawback is that city districts with dense population may suffer from noise and air pollution since more people result in more vehicles and gas emission.

On the other hand, expansion of a city to provide more housing is probably a better solution. The only problem is such expansion may be not environmentally friendly as it may lead to forest destruction or loss of wildlife when more land is needed for construction. However, if it is conducted in a carefully organized way, the construction of building in the suburbs provides much more pleasant, green and healthy environment for people.

In conclusion, although both solutions have some certain downsides, building on wider area provides better environment to live and start a new life.