some cities have few controls on the design and construction of housing and office building. People think that they are free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

Some cities have intervened in the design and construction of the infrastructure while citizens think that they have the freedom of choice in the style of their houses and buildings. While this development may bring about some benefits, from my point of view, they are eclipsed by the drawbacks.

On the one hand, this phenomenon offers people several benefits. Without control, citizens can create many new styles of housing. Owners can use their creativity and knowledge to create many modern and unique houses which make the city become more appealing and look attractive to tourists. Besides, they can apply new technologies in house construction and turning it into “smart houses”. This will help the city become more developed by modernizing its infrastructure with more advanced equipment. As a result, buildings which are made of various designs can make the area more outstanding and in accordance with many people from different cultures.

On the other hand, in my respectives, the aforementioned advantages are at the expand of greater drawbacks. In some cases, if people have their designs, it will lead to the lack of uniformity of the city. This makes not only the appearance of the area become disorder but also makes the city unappealing with tourists and who are seeking a settling place. Moreover, this mingles with lay-out can demonstrate the manner of the city. Take Hoi An’s architecture as an example. Hoi An is a popular tourist destination because of its ancient architecture with houses of hundreds of years with similar color shapes. If the house owners in this area change the pattern, they will destroy the historical features of the land that represent culture. In addition, the accommodation also needs to follow certain standards in order not to damage surrounding architectures.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of designing a house freely are more considerable than its advantages.