In some cities, there are few controls over the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, so people can build in whatever style they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt house design has a considerable bearing on the urban landscape. However, people remain divided over whether or not to give home owners complete autonomy to design their own living space. In certain urban areas today, the regulation on the design and construction of homes is quite loose while this trend may offer some advantages, I believe they are outweighed by the more significant disadvantages.

On the one hand, entitling people to freedom in house design is advantageous to a certain extent. As home is a very personal space, being able to design it to our liking can be immensely enjoyable. If home owners are deprived of this freedom, they would feel uncomfortable and frustrated with their own property, which may adversely affect other aspects of their life. On the city level, having variation in house design could help the neighborhood and even the city as a whole look more vibrant. Paris perfectly exemplifies this principle This city is hailed as one of the most unique in the world as far as architectural style is concerned, which can be attributed to the fact that the houses here do not conform to a fixed aesthetic.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned benefits are at the expense of greater drawbacks. First, there is the question of safety. The lack of control on how houses should be constructed could put the lives of the inhabitants in jeopardy. Second, aesthetically speaking, if home owners are allowed to design their house however they want, they may err on the side of being too adventurous and the building would look out of place with other structures in the same area. Most of us are not well-versed in architecture and home design, and houses that are in bad taste could seriously spoil the beauty of the city.

In conclusion, while letting people freely design their houses could be beneficial to some extent, I believe it would be better if there is a standard that everyone can adhere to.