In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that education has a considerable bearing on children development. Because of this how to provide children the best education always attracts parents’ interests. Nowadays, there is a growing homeschooling. While I agree that it may bring some benefits in some extent, I would argue that there are more drawbacks.

On the one hand, educating children at home can be advantageous because of some reasons. Firstly, homeschooling can strengthen family bonds because homeschooling families spend a lot of time playing and learning together, which naturally creates close ties between brothers and sisters and between parents and children. Secondly, home-schoolers have a great deal of flexibility in how and what they learn. Home schooled children can receive education which is attuned to their needs, style of learning, interests and personality, which would help them develop a passion on learning and, as a result, they can have a better life in the future. Therefore, it is understandable why there are a growing number of parents deciding to teach their children themselves at home.

However, the aforementioned advantages can be outweighed by its disadvantages. Home schooled children often miss socialization and interactions with their peers. These interactions are extremely crucial to their development because by playing with their friends they could learn how to get on with others and develop social skills which is essential to their later life. In addition, schools offer better overall education experience. It means that school subjects are taught by up to ten different teachers who are highly trained in universities, and parents who want to educate their children at home would have to take time to learn all these subjects. Consequently, their children may not receive high quality lesson and skills.

In conclusion while home –schooling children may beneficial, I believe that the drawbacks are more significant than the benefits.