scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree??

It is widely acknowledged that science plays a paramount role in the development of our life. Because of this, some people argue that the governments should take control and conduct major scientific research instead of private institutions. From my perspective, I completely agree with this view.

It is understandable why people are of the opinion that the conduct of research should be best carried out by the government. The key rationale is that there are two dangers of private conduct of research. Firstly, the results may be flawed due to profit motive. Thalidomide perfectly exemplifies this situation. This type of new drug was researched and developed by a non-government organization. Thousands of patients using it, and the consequence was disastrous. It caused malformed births among people using it. Secondly, from ethical perspective, leaving research such as genetic engineering in the hands of corporations may have profound social effects. GM crops, for example, with unproven effects, have resulted in the imbalance of the whole ecosystem.

Moreover, all research need to be under the control of the government because it not only secures the results and avoid unwanted consequences, but also help them to allocate budget reasonably. Universities can conduct high – quality research. And then this knowledge can be shared to benefit society instead of being used in for commercial purposes. In addition to that, government – decision making is best way to prioritize expenditure on specific areas of research, taking into the needs of society both present and future. For instance, there is a need to develop and research alternative source of energy such as renewable energy.

In conclusion, it is sensible for the government to take control and conduct all the scientific research.