In some cities, there is little control on the design and construction of homes and other buildings, and owners can decide on the styles of their houses.

Do the advantages of this outweigh its drawbacks

It is undeniable that how houses are built has an immense bearing on the urban landscape. Thereby, it is controversial whether households should be given the autonomy to construct their homes at their will. In some specific urbans, regulations on the way in which houses are designed and constructed are quite lax. While this trend reflects certain downsides, I believe they are eclipsed by the upsides.

On one side of the argument, being entitled to decide on house styles appears to be beneficial in various ways. Since house construction requires depleting astronomical budget or taking out a mortgage, owners would be content to possess a house decorated to their liking. If the house fails to meet the dwellers’ demands, householders might suffer from stress and unpleasure throughout their living experience; such has adverse effect on other realms such as work performance and well-being of the inhabitants. Alternatively, the city would look more vibrant and lively thanks to the diversity in shape and color of houses. Singapore has perfectly exemplified this principle; tourists are reported to be appealed by the variation of colors displayed on houses near the renowned Chinatown. All of these elements precisely manifest the good merits brought by the above-mentioned phenomenon.

On the other end of the debate, there are grounds supporting the view that the authorities should rigidly take the reins over how houses are styled and constructed. One of the major motives is safety. Not having architectural expertise at their fingertips, owners may err on the side of being unscrupulous and deprived of some fundamental safety criteria, which can detrimentally put the lives of either owners or even neighbors in jeopardy. Moreover, sometimes, self-designed houses are in bad taste thus spoiling the beauty of the neighborhood. This situation is attributed to the fact that not all the owners are well-versed in architecture; consequently, their houses might be grotesque and look completely out of place. On the upshot, the state control over designing and building accommodations is needed to a certain extent.

Overall, despite aforementioned benefits offered by the supervision of the state on house design and construction, I believe it would be better to grant people the freedom to design and build their own homes.