Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas. Other think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss and give opinion.

Without a doubt, residential architecture has a considerable bearing on urban landscape; thereby, house design has always been a topic of interest. While there are voices that the style of old and new houses should be uniform, others claim that how houses are built is the personal choice of every household. This essay would demonstrate the benefit brought about via allowing people to design their houses in their own style.

There are certain points where houses in a neighborhood should be confronted to a fixed architectural style. One of the plausible rationale laid behind this view is that the coherence derived from the homogeneity of houses might visually satisfy observers’ sight; nevertheless, the relentless repetition of solely a style sometimes reflects a mundane and monotonous figure of the residential areas. Moreover, providing that the already existing houses are so grotesque and old-fashioned that they are unable to feature some indispensable functions of modern lifestyle such as spacious garage and gym room; then, it is pointless for new inhabitants to follow suit.

Instead of rigidly forcing an uniform house design, house owners have the autonomy to adapt individual style to their houses according to their demands and personal aesthetic tastes. Since constructing house requires depleting astronomical budget or even taking out a mortgage with considerable monthly interest, an output which does not meet its owners’ expectation and creativity concept, results in the deficiency of pleasure in the living experience. As for those who are eager to exaggerate their prosperity or their unique view on the art of architecture, houses that are built at their will would appear to be an undeniably firm manifesto to their talents and their lives of abundance.

Overall, although maintaining a uniform style for house building might have a good side or two, I strongly concur that households are entitled to apply personal design on their house construction.