Some claim that men are naturally more competitive than women.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that men have more competitiveness in their blood than their counterparts. I do not share a similar point of view with these statemen because of the two reasons outlined below.

Competitiveness is a quality by which both male and female individuals have in their blood because this quality is a basic mechanism of human adaptation in this world. What makes one is more competitive than another is the upbringing method. If children live in a family who are valuing competitiveness, they may develop this quality to higher levels. The recent scientific findings found that children having siblings are more competitive because they have to compete with their siblings. This makes them develop a desire to be a winner on every occasion to gain attention from their parents.

Another reason why children become competitive individuals is because of their life experiences. Some families enroll their children in various competitions to develop this ability. This is mainly because when children have to face other children in the competition, they have to win the match to save their face in front of their friends or families. This makes them think of a strategy to be a winner at any cost. For an outsider, it may be considered as competitiveness.

To sum up, although many people think that men are more competitive than women, I believe that both female and male individuals have equal quality of competitiveness. However, what makes them different is the way they are growing and their experiences in competition.