Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The aging population has draw a majority of attention these days since there is a heated debate about whether it is beneficial for society or not when some nations give them the permission to be in the workforce as long as their desire. From my personal standpoint, I would content that the benefits of this policy would overshadow its negative aspects.

On the one hand, the enormous contribution that the elderly can bring to society is somewhat undeniable. First of all, it is their life-long working experience that make them indispensable to the job market. Senior employees would be those taking the responsibility to pass down their knowledge and skills to the younger generation so as to improving effectiveness and productivity at work. The second point that should be taken into consideration is the explosion of individualism in this day and age, the old people do not want to be financial dependence and be a burden to their offsprings. Hence, by having an occupation, they would be able to not only pay their own living cost but also keep their self-esteem from being devastated. It is not to mentioned that by extending the mandatory retirement age, the government budget would be alleviate as a result of less spending on pension and medical insurance, this amount of money can be allocated to other fields, such as improving the country’s economy or renovating decrepit infrastructure.

On the other hand, there are some downsides of this policy that we should not be ignorant. There is a growing concern related to the deficiency of jobs in the employment market nowadays due to the truth that the higher the retirement age, the less available vacancies would be for the youth. Considering some developing countries possessing extremely young population like Vietnam, Malaysia or the Philippines, it may pose a threat to their economy considering the fact that youngsters, who are quickly-adapt to cutting-edge technology and latest information, only made up a small amount in the workforce.

In a nutshell, even though there are some minor drawbacks, I still adhere that this tendency would have a positive effect on the country in the long run.