Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Time flies, human’s perspective regarding the elderly and labour age has drastically changed so that the mandatory retirement regulation set for ages is unbarred to support senior workers in continuing their life-long passionate job. Despite several censures made by the public, I, as a strong advocate, believe in the advantages that this movement brings back to both the elderly and the government.

First, the application in extending working ages can help reduce the old workers’ negative emotions. It is conspicuous that once seniors are required to quit their jobs when they reach the age of 65 or over, several psychological problems subsequently emerge as a result. After months of staying out of work, these retired workers consider their house as a small prison where they are confined from doing their familiar tasks at work. Some even lament that it is unfair to force them to stop working after years of dedication and devotion. However, the story seems to go different if there is no restriction on the age of working.

Another benefit when obligation retirement is no longer in effect is assuaging pressure on government coffers. It is woeful that the increasing number of unemployed workers causes stress on the amount of welfare used to support them while there is a multitude of sectors in need such as education, military or healthcare service. If old people can work to pay for themselves, the governments are able to allocate that budget to address urgent problems and develop society’s living standards. There is no reason to coerce retired workers into receiving pensions or welfare services while they are not under demand.

In short, removing age restriction in work seems to be a suitable decision to be followed by countries in this world.