In some countries, companies allow people to work from home. In others, people are still expected to work in an office. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the context of globalization and modernization, it is one of the policies of enterprises to permit their employees accomplish their duties at home. However, many are of belief to come to the office to work. The following paper will look at both viewpoints of this trend as well as providing my personal concept.

To begin with, giving the employees to have remote work can be beneficial to the firm on some aspects. First of all, this action would be an economical policy leading to a significant amount of saved budget. To explain, remote working does not require in-office utility expenditures such as wireless connection or electricity. Therefore, this may help companies to reduce the amount of money that they have to pay for monthly bills. The second upside is flexibility. White-collar workers who are allowed to stay at home to work would be able to prioritize their most essential tasks along with arranging their schedule in a logical order. As a result, the retention rate can be increased as employees are not under any pressure.

However, it is also the encouragement of several firms to let their workforce present at the offices. Having direct interaction at workplaces is likely to enhance the employee engagement. For example, when multiple workers are assigned to work in a team on a project, they will be more understanding to each other and the job satisfaction tends to be reinforced if their efforts are recognized. Thus, a dynamic workforce can be formed and employees are valued. Moreover, urgent tasks would be dealt immediately and effectively when workers are present at their offices. To illustrate, when there is a flaw in the job assigned, superiors can physically and directly come to their subordinates to get the mistakes corrected rather than wasting time on formally writing emails to inform. This leads to no procrastination in the working process as employees are not available to make a response.

In conclusion, I believe that whether it is remote working or in-office working, each of method has their own benefits. Personally, physical arrival at workplace would be a more dominant way as it reinforces the operation to be procedural.