more and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. what are the reasons? do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that there is an increasing number of buyers who engage in purchasing luxurious items produced by renowned branding ranging from garments, cars and other kinds of products. The following essay will examine the root causes of this trend as well as providing explanations to prove my view that this change would bring more negative consequences rather than positive influences.

For a variety of reasons, some people follow this trend as of two main drivers. The first reason is that they want to be attractive in the eyes of public. Take young generation in Vietnam as a salient example. Most of youngsters in this country who aged from 15 to 18 years old, they tend to put on expensive pieces of clothes with appealing patterns to show off their social status along with the desire to be gorgeous all the time. Therefore, their self-image can be constantly maintained in a positive way. Secondly, popular brands would bring high-quality products which could draw the attention of many customers. For instance, Mercedes Benz, which is a global manufacturer of cars and has a long history of making vehicles, has been successfully in generating huge profit from its innovative models being designated with features including auto-driving mode or even virtual maps. As a result, people who choose to own these kinds of products often seek novel experience with significant creativity.

However, such kind of development would do more harm than good. The first worth-mentioning negative consequence is the long-term reliance on parents if teenagers keep putting costly attires to their cart. To elaborate, because of being unqualified to join in the labor force, the young might not value the money made by their parents. Consequently, if there is no parental supervision or guidance, they are likely to engage in a passive way of living resulting in getting involved in social evils such as stealing. Furthermore, high-quality products coming from well-known brands are not always affordable for all of buyers. To be specific, only upper-class citizens and high-income earners may be competent enough to get a luxurious car with up-to-date functions. Hence, those who suffer from financial difficulties might find it hard to possess one leading to a sense of being left behind and depression.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that more and more people are getting to buy products from famous brands because of having a desire to show off and owning good quality items. However, this might result in negative consequences such as the involvement of bad behaviors and being unaffordable for low-income earners.