Some countries encourage teenagers to have part time job and see it as a good thing, while others disagree. Give your opinion and explain both views.

Nowadays, part time jobs are often regarded by many parents and societies as a beneficial activity that will equip their teenagers with important social knowledge and skills. However, I believe that there are hidden risks and drawbacks that can potentially outweigh these surface benefits.

Firstly, given their small age and limited life experience, many teenagers do not have the ability to protect themselves in unfortunate adult work environment. Most notably, sexual abuse, which has been happening more and more recently, is definitely a dangerous risk that many working teenagers face. This problem becomes even more severe because it is hard to detect: the victims, being ashamed and threatened, do not dare to tell anyone else what happened to them.

Secondly, teenagers may be exploited in the workplace: they may be asked to do unsuitable jobs or receive payment that is not worth their work. Even more dangerously, teenagers could be manipulated into helping illegal activities without their knowing. For example, during the opioid epidemic in Vietnam, it was reported that drug traffickers paid a very small amount to trick many teenagers into delivering drugs for them.

On the other hand, many people argue that certain benefits of doing part time jobs could not be replicated by other activities. For example, they argue that it helps teenagers become more mature. In particular, they can understand that money only comes from hard work and so know how to adjust their spending. They can also learn many vital soft skills while doing such jobs. However, I believe that there are many other ways that can effectively teach children these skills. For example, teenagers can join social campaigns, which can help them learn organizational skills, communication skills, and even make new friends of their age group. Volunteering for charitable work should be highly considered because it teaches teenagers to not only understand how far a little money can go for someone in need, but more importantly to share and sympathize. Even when staying at home, teenagers can even better themselves by just helping their parents do housework.

In conclusion, I think that part time jobs are more suitable for older people rather than teenagers. The benefits of these part time jobs could be replicated by instead letting teenagers join youth social and charitable groups. From there, the teenagers can join the adult workplace once they have grown an ability to solve the problems that can go along with these jobs.