In some countries governments pay the money for students' university fees, while in other countries students pay for themselves. Do advantages of governments paying for the students outweigh its disadvantages?

Students in some countries can be given to university education without tuition fees. On the other hand, there are still many countries where university students should pay for it. I believe that there are more significant benefits regarding governments' financial support in university fees than its drawbacks.

Some opponents who are against the governments' free scholarly fee policy tend to argue that as their countries invest a significant amount of budget in education, they cannot allocate the money for other essential welfare programmes, which are designed for the various generations such as rehabilitation centres and excellent quality of healthcare services. Besides, there might be possible that some students who are not interested in studying or academic development might feel pressured because the society seems to force all students to gain higher levels of education potentially.

However, free university education systems bring about more favourable effects on students and society. The most advantageous factor is that every student living in some countries which provide high education access for free receive an equal educational opportunity. For this reason, many students who cannot support themselves financially can take advantage of it. Socially, there would be more plenty of competent and educated people because many pupils are allowed to gain an upper level of academic knowledge as well as practical skills, which result in the better human workforce in workplaces in society.

In conclusion, university education for free supported by governments can lead to more different merits to students and society such as an equal educational chance individually and smarter and more skilled people society rather than its demerits.