Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees.

Why are these laws introduced?

Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

In recent years, with the growing proportion of staff who succumb to fatigue due to the overwhelmed workload, many countries have imposed a ban on working hours. I believe this is a positive way to alleviate the situation for some reasons.

Granted, the vast majority of employees are those who are in the middle or poor class, in an attempt to lessen the financial burden for their family, extra working hours are considered to be an effective way to get recognition and awards from the boss. Reflecting the competence of and attitude towards their position, by the effort paid to one’s job, they could also be offered for a greater promotion in the corporate ladder as well as gain trust from the colleagues. Both of which are desirable and essential to staff’s development. After all, the critical baseline at work is excellence, productivity is the key to success in the demanding employment market and each individual have to exert their maximum potential to meet it.

Regardless of some shortcomings when placing restriction on work time, I contend that this is a positive development for the overall labor force and their relatives. To begin with, the model of nuclear family is omnipresent these days, workers whose children are at the toddler phase of their life often struggle to balance their work and domestic relationships. When laws are enforced, they are able to spend more time with who they love and educate their offspring, whose parental guidance is essential to the growth of cognition and preconception. Furthermore, it also engenders equal chances for the clerks to compete with each other and trigger their work efficiency to the highest level during the working hours since there is no chance for them to gain competitive edge after the office door is closed.

To conclude, this solution from the authorities is beneficial in various ways when it is adopted under circumstances in which the employees’ right are safeguarded and enterprises' operation and performance is ensured.