Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The logistic industry has seen progress in recent decades owing to the fact that not only it is reforming the function of mankind but also playing an increasingly irreplaceable role in daily activities of people. Although there are certain shortcomings of this change, I believe those are outweighed by its tangible merits.

For one thing, a noticeable ramification of the over-reliance on those devices is the lack of interaction among our society. Seemingly evident that technology is a revolutionary tool which could be able to close a gap between humans regardless of any geographical constraints, its convenience is gradually replacing face-to-face communication of people. With an array of features namely video conferences or unlimited free calls and texts, users will not have to travel long distances to see each other but this could conversely engender a psychological gap. While relationships are only maintained through online channels instead of being built through verbal confabulation and interactions, the inherent emotional values could steadily disappear from this world as people place more value on other sorts of entertainment.

For another, this transition toward modernization is believed to be beneficial to the civilians overall. With all aspects are computerized, the social efficiency and productivity could increase substantially when machinery could outperform human in manufacturing and working. For instance, with automation, businesses could easily transform their conventional man-made supply chains into large-scale production when applying robots in fields, which could undertake tasks at a higher rate than the workers. This approach could also be cost-effective, and at the meantime, drastically reduce the margin of error made by human, which is essential to the pursuit of perfection in the foreseeable future.

To conclude, the disadvantages of technology revolution are clear, however, I believe that it is overtaken by the benefits it brought to our lives. Hence, those drawbacks could be surmounted by our disciplines and a minor change in attitudes toward each other could deliver noticeable results within a firm.