Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Government food strategies are designed to fulfill various supply chain needs. In recent years, food importing has sparked a debate among societies. While many people argue that importing food can be beneficial, I contend that being a customer of other countries is not only unwise but also can threaten other related fields.

To begin with, importing food from other parts of the world has several advantages. First and foremost, it allows countries to access a wider variety of food products that may not be locally available. Consumers, therefore, can enjoy experiencing diverse cuisines and new flavors. Moreover, seasonal gaps in production may lead to supply disruptions. Importing food, therefore, can compensate for food scarcity and price fluctuations throughout the year and ensure a more consistent supply.

However, certain challenges and drawbacks emerge if food importation contributes to a large portion of food supply. The food and agriculture industry obviously needs meticulous planning. Sole reliance on food importation can make agriculture and its relevant subsections vulnerable. In other words, governments may not feel the necessity of investing in this industry and promoting new methods in harvesting, cultivation, and aggregation, for example, which may consequently lead to a gradual downward trend in food production and the vanishing of related professions. Thus, the economy can be heavily influenced if the government denies endeavors for developing and becoming independent in the food and agriculture industry.

In conclusion, cross-border food business has its own advantages and disadvantages. While it can rectify some problems such as unsteady supply and unavailability of certain foods, agricultural and economic downsides that it brings along should be considered. I believe that the demerits of importing food can outweigh the merits